Dressel Wins Twice on Thursday Night in Richmond

Dressel Wins Twice on Thursday Night in Richmond

By USA Swimming  | Friday, April 12, 2019

The Collegiate School Aquatics Center in Richmond, Va., once again played host to an exciting night of TYR Pro Swim Series competition. The second day of the meet marked the first full day of finals and resulted in some alterations to the TYR Pro Swim Series record book.

The night started with Katie Ledecky (Bethesda, Md./Nation’s Capital Swim Club) taking the 200m freestyle in 1:56.28. The win earned Ledecky her 52nd TYR Pro Swim Series win, moving her past Missy Franklin to gain sole possession of the top spot on the all-time TYR Pro Swim Series wins list. Ledecky also pushed her 2019 TYR Pro Series win total to six, the most of any female competitor so far.

Immediately following Ledecky’s victory, Caeleb Dressel (Green Cove Springs, Fla./ Gator Swim Club) took the men’s 200m freestyle title in 1:47.31, just out-touching fellow World Championships medalists Zane Grothe (Boulder City, Nev./ Boulder City Henderson Swim Team) and Jack Conger (Rockville, Md./ Cavalier Swimming), who finished second and third, respectively.

Dressel’s win would be his first of two on the night, with his other coming in the 100m butterfly, when his 52.08 was good for the 10th-fastest 100m butterfly time in the last five years of TYR Pro Swim Series competition. The two-time Olympic medalist now joins Grothe and Michael Andrew (Encinitas, Calif./Race Pace Club) as the only male swimmers with three or more TYR Pro Swim Series wins in 2019.

One of the tightest races of the night came in the men’s 100m breaststroke, when three national teamers finished within one tenth of a second of each other. Cody Miller (Las Vegas, Nev./ Sandpipers Of Nevada) earned his first win in 2019 TYR Pro Swim Series competition, touching in 1:00.98. Just six hundredths of a second behind Miller was Andrew Wilson (Bethesda, Md./ Athens Bulldog Swim Club) who finished in 1:01.04 while Nic Fink (Morristown, N.J./ Athens Bulldog Swim Club) touched one hundredth of a second behind Wilson for third.

Two events later, a star-studded lineup took the pool for the men’s 50m backstroke. With over half of the A final being current or past national team members, it was Michael Andrew (Encinats, Calif./Race Pace Club) who bested the power-packed field, touching in 24.76. Ryan Held (Springfield, Ill./ New York Athletic Club) took second in 25.16.

The night was rounded out with wins by Annie Lazor (Beverly Hills, Mich./ Mission Viejo Nadadores) in the 100m breaststroke, Olivia Smoliga (Glenview, Ill./ Athens Bulldog Swim Club) in the 50m backstroke, and Chase Kalisz (Bel Air, Md./ Athens Bulldog Swim Club) and recent NCAA champion Ella Eastin (Irvine, Calif./ Alto Swim Club) winning the 400m I.M.

Friday’s prelims begin at 9 a.m. ET, and will be available live onsftest.usaswimming.org. The night’s finals competition will begin at 6 p.m. ET, with the live broadcast available on The Olympic Channel, while a delayed recording will air on NBC Sports Network beginning the following morning at 1:30 a.m. ET. Live results are available at omegatiming.com.



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C