Cal Claims Team Title as NCAA Championships Close

Cal Claims Team Title as NCAA Championships Close

By Emily Sampl//Contributor  | Sunday, March 31, 2019

The University of California ran away with its first team title since 2014, while pool records fell in five of the six swimming events contested as the men’s NCAA Division I Swimming and Diving Championships came to a close in Austin, Texas.

The Bears claimed their sixth team title overall and crushed Texas’ attempt at a five-peat after the Longhorns won from 2015-2018. Cal finished atop the team standings with 560 points, followed by Texas (475), Indiana (385.50), North Carolina State (307) and Louisville (212).

Michigan’s Felix Auboeck got the night started with a pool record-breaking performance in the men’s mile as he stopped the clock in 14:23.09, about six and a half seconds under his seed time of 14:29.58 and well clear of Connor Jaeger’s 14:29.27 from 2014. Indiana freshman Michael Brinegar turned in a second place showing in his first NCAA meet with a 14:27.50, also under the previous pool record. California’s Nick Norman touched third in 14:32.12.

Texas teammates John Shebat and Austin Katz continued the record spree in the 200 back final, as both swimmers cleared Ryan Murphy’s pool record of 1:37.35. Shebat claimed the title in 1:36.42, with Katz right behind in 1:36.45. California’s Bryce Mefford grabbed third in 1:38.65.

After picking up his first NCAA title in the 100 back Friday night, Harvard junior Dean Farris knocked off Minnesota’s Bowe Becker to win the 100 free, 40.80 to 40.83. Both swimmers cleared Farris’ pool record of 41.00 from prelims in the morning. Indiana’s Zach Apple rounded out the top three in 41.45.

California’s Andrew Seliskar closed out his collegiate career with a bang, taking home his third individual win of the meet with a 1:48.70 in the 200 breast, just off Kevin Cordes’ pool record of 1:48.66 from 2014. Minnesota freshman Max McHugh touched second in 1:49.41, with Indiana senior and 100 breast champ Ian Finnerty also squeezing in under 1:50 at 1:49.90.

North Carolina State’s Andreas Vazaios successfully defended his NCAA title in the 200 fly, setting the fourth pool record of the night with a 1:38.57. Indiana’s Vini Lanza, who won the 100 fly last night, out-dueled California’s Zheng Quah for second, 1:39.63 to 1:39.68.

In platform diving, Texas sophomore Jordan Windle saved his best for last with a winning point total of 447.00, ahead of Miami’s David Dinsmore (440.75) and Louisiana State’s Juan Hernandez (435.80).

Texas put a wrap on their runner-up finish in the team standings with a victory in the final 400 free relay. The foursome of Daniel Krueger, John Shebat, Tate Jackson and Townley Haas obliterated Auburn’s pool record of 2:48.33 with a 2:45.12, highlighted by sub 41-second swims from Jackson and Haas. North Carolina State, represented by Jacob Molacek, Coleman Stewart, Nyls Korstanje and Justin Ress, claimed second in 2:46.25, while California’s Michael Jensen, Pawel Sendyk, Ryan Hoffer and Andrew Seliskar took third in 2:46.41.

Complete results are now available.



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C