Michael Andrew Cruises to Win No. 5 at TYR Pro Swim Series  at Des Moines

Michael Andrew Cruises to Win No. 5 at TYR Pro Swim Series at Des Moines

By USA Swimming  | Saturday, March 9, 2019

American swimmers win every event on final night of competition


DES MOINES, Iowa – Four-time 2018 national champion Michael Andrew (Encinitas, Calif./Race Pace Club) nabbed two more victories, bringing his event total to five, to close out the 2019 TYR Pro Swim Series at Des Moines. The international event, which featured swimmers from 25 nations, saw the American swimmers win every event on Saturday evening at the MidAmerican Energy Aquatic Center at the Wellmark YMCA.

Andrew, who also won the 50m backstroke, 50m butterfly and 100m breaststroke, captured wins four and five by claiming the 100-meter backstroke in 53.98 and the 50m free in 21.94. Also continuing their dominant performances this week were National Team members Kathleen Baker (Winston Salem, N.C./Team Elite) and Annie Lazor (Beverly Hills, Mich./ Mission Viejo Nadadores).

Baker, the current world record holder in the 100m back, swept the backstroke events this week, winning the 100m back in 59.17. The fastest time in the world this year. Lazor won the 200m breast in 2:22.99, setting a new personal best and making it two breaststroke victories in Des Moines this week.

Olympian Caeleb Dressel (Green Cove Springs, Fla./Bolles School Sharks) claimed the men’s 100m fly in 51.51, while fellow National Team members Leah Smith (Pittsburgh, Pa./Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics) and Zane Grothe (Boulder City, Nev./BCH Heatwave) won their respective 800m free event in 8:29.12 and 7:54.28. This was Grothe’s second win of the week, having also captured the 400m free.  

Olympic medalists Melanie Margalis (Clearwater, Fla./St. Petersburg Aquatics) and Gunnar Bentz (Atlanta, Ga./Dynamo Swim Club) won the women’s and men’s 200m IM in 2:10.88 and 2:01.45, continuing the Georgia IM tradition.

Other USA Swimming National Team members earning victories Saturday included Kelsi Dahlia (Westampton, N.J./Cardinal Aquatics) in the 100m fly in 57.86 and Will Licon (El Paso, Texas/Longhorn Aquatics) in the 200m breast in 2:09.90. Natalie Hinds (Athens, Ga./Athens Bulldog Swim Club) won the 50m free in 25.55.

After four stellar days of competition in Des Moines, the 2019 TYR Pro Swim Series resumes April 10-13 in Richmond, Va. Tickets for the event are on sale now at usaswimming.org/racingtime.

Across the 2019 TYR Pro Swim Series, swimmers may earn increased awards for top-three finishes. At each meet, $1,500 will be provided for a first-place finish, $1,000 for second and $500 for third. In addition, one athlete per gender with the highest-scoring prelim swim in an individual Olympic event based on FINA power points will win $1,500.

The TYR Pro Swim Series is being brought to Des Moines in partnership with Catch Des Moines and the Wellmark YMCA.

Keep up with all the latest USA Swimming news by following @usaswimming on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.




    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C