Jianjiahe Wang and Anton Ipsen Open TYR Pro Swim Series at Des Moines with Wins

Jianjiahe Wang and Anton Ipsen Open TYR Pro Swim Series at Des Moines with Wins

By USA Swimming  | Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Competition continues through Saturday at the Wellmark YMCA

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – Sixteen-year-old rising star Jianjiahe Wang of China and Denmark’s Anton Ipsen took home the 1500-meter freestyle titles Wednesday in the opening session of the TYR Pro Swim Series at Des Moines at the MidAmerican Energy Aquatic Center at the Wellmark YMCA.

Wang earned the women’s 1500m free title in 15 minutes, 46.69 seconds ahead of Chilean Olympian Kristel Kobrich and fellow Chinese teammate Bingjie Li, who touched in 16:17.92 and 16:19.71, respectively.

Ipsen took the men’s win in 15:05:39, edging out Olympian Jordan Wilimovsky (Malibu, Calif./Team Santa Monica) by five hundredths of a second, who placed second in 15:05.44. National team member Zane Grothe (Boulder City, Nev./ Mission Viejo Nadadores) was third in 15:13.29.

“I’m very happy with the swim and how I felt,” Ipsen said about the victory. “I’m super stoked about the competition here this week. It was really cool to swim with the likes of Zane Grothe and Jordan Wilimovsky, who in some way are idols to me each in their own respect. I’m really happy to race against them and get some great race experience this week.”

The four-day, long-course meters competition runs through Saturday with daily prelims at 10 a.m. CST and evening finals at 7 p.m. CST. All-session and single-session tickets to catch the world’s best swimmers in action are on sale now at usaswimming.org.

The Olympic Channel will air live finals coverage from Des Moines at 7 p.m. CST on Thursday, followed by a late evening delay broadcast on NBCSN, while NBCSN will air live-finals coverage at 7 p.m. CST on Friday. The NBC Sports app will stream coverage on both Thursday and Friday. A live webcast of prelims will stream online at usaswimming.org.

Across the 2019 TYR Pro Swim Series, swimmers may earn increased awards for top-three finishes in all individual Olympic events. At each meet, $1,500 will be provided for a first-place finish, $1,000 for second and $500 for third. In addition, one athlete per gender with the highest-scoring prelim swim in an individual Olympic event based on FINA power points will win $1,500.

The TYR Pro Swim Series is being brought to Des Moines in partnership with Catch Des Moines and the Wellmark YMCA.

Keep up with all the latest USA Swimming news by following @usaswimming on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.





    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C