Relay Record Falls on Night Two of Speedo Junior Nationals

Relay Record Falls on Night Two of Speedo Junior Nationals

By Emily Sampl//Contributor  | Thursday, August 2, 2018

The Terrapins’ Andrei Minakov tied a meet record in the men’s 100m free, and then joined his teammates in setting a new meet record in the men’s 400m free relay during the second night of finals at the Speedo Junior National Championships at the William Wollett, Jr. Aquatic Complex in Irvine, Calif. 

After qualifying first in this morning’s prelims, Beach Cities’ Alexandra Crisera went out conservatively in the women’s 200m back final, inching her way up from fifth at the first turn to first at the final touch in 2:12.52. Lake Oswego’s Mara Newman dropped more than a second to take second in 2:13.21. Fort Collins Area Swim Team’s Kylee Alons rounded out the top three with a personal best 2:13.54. 

Three swimmers dipped under 2:00 in the men’s 200m back final, with Billings Aquatic Club’s Ethan Harder leading the way. After entering the meet just over 2:00 at 2:00.12, Harder eclipsed the barrier and moved up two spots to win in 1:59.07. Carson Foster from Mason Manta Rays grabbed the second spot in 1:59.74, slightly off his prelim swim of 1:59.13. Heart of Texas’ Will Grant slipped in for third at 1:59.95. 

Condors Swim Club’s Christiana Regenauer and Brea Aquatics’ Samantha Pearson treated the crowd to a great race in the women’s 100m free as both swimmers flipped even at the halfway point in 26.63. The two were neck and neck all the way to the finish, where Regenauer just got her hand on the wall first, 55.59 to 55.65. Dart’s Amalie Fackenthal edged out a tightly bunched final six swimmers to take third in 56.36. Notably, Pleasanton Seahawks’ Miranda Heckman posted a 56.27 to win the B final, which would have been third overall. 

A pair of Terrapins teammates finished atop the standings in the men’s 100m free, as Andrei Minakov edged Alexei Sancov, 49.06 to 49.58. Minakov tied the meet record in the process, set by Vladimir Morozov in 2010. Matthew Willenbring, competing unattached, finished third officially with a 50.57, although Bluefish’s River Wright posted the third-best time of the night with a 50.45 from the C final. 

After eight lengths and four different strokes, the women’s 400m IM final came down to the final inches as 14-year-old Claire Tuggle of Clovis out-touched Asphalt Green’s Isabel Gormley, 4:44.91 to 4:45.06 for the win. NOVA of Virginia’s Grace Sheble picked up her second top-three finish of the meet with a 4:46.97 for third. 

Long Island Aquatic Club’s Jason Louser cut more than three seconds off his prelim time to cruise to victory in the men’s 400m IM with a 4:18.59. Mason Manta Rays’ Jake Foster just beat out La Mirada Armada’s Kevin Vargas for second, 4:20.20 to 4:20.31. 

Brea Aquatics’ foursome of Zephy Koh, Marly Lough, Justina Kozan and Samantha Pearson raced to a win in the women’s 400m free relay with a time of 3:47.43. SwimMAC Carolina (3:48.03) and North Baltimore Aquatic Club (3:49.25) rounded out the top three. 

Meanwhile, the Terrapins quartet of Matt Fetterman, Alexei Sancov, Andrew Rodriguez and Andrei Minakov topped the men’s field in 3:24.48, erasing Indiana University’s four-year-old meet record of 3:24.62 from the books. Mason Manta Rays took second in 3:25.55, followed by SwimMAC Carolina in 3:26.69. 

Through two days of competition, Irvine Novaquatics leads the team race with 116 points, just ahead of SwimMAC Carolina (114 points). Mason Manta Rays are in third with 99 points. The Manta Rays have scored nearly all of their points in the men’s events, as they lead the men’s standings with 91 points. North Baltimore sits atop the women’s meet with 92 points. for results, recaps and webcast info from Irvine.



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C