Diversity & Inclusion Award

Diversity & Inclusion Award

 | Friday, July 28, 2017

Established in 2006 the Diversity & Inclusion Award is presented to a person, group or an organization that has positively heightened the awareness of inclusion efforts through various modes and media resulting in the increase and successful participation of currently underrepresented groups in the sport of swimming.  This award is given out by USA Swimming’s National Diversity & Inclusion Committee.

Past Award Winners

Date Award Winner
2017 Miriam Lynch
2016 Organization: Sigma Gamma Rho, Inc.
Individual: Coach Tommy Jackson
2015 Sue Anderson
2014 Coach Robert Trotman
2013 Maritza (Correia) McClendon
2012 Coach Hosea Holder
2011 Harris County Commissioner El Franco Lee
& Coach Johnnie Means
2010 Atlanta Falcons Youth Foundation
2009 Arthur Lopez
2008 Chuck Wielgus
2007 Cullen Jones
2006 Coach Jim Ellis

This year the committee will present the Diversity & Inclusion Award to an individual or a team/group/organization.  Nomination descriptions are below.    

Individual Nomination

This individual has shown excellence and gone above and beyond their daily role to address the needs and concerns of underrepresented individuals in the sport of swimming. This individual has made a significant impact in providing countless individuals with the opportunities to explore issues regarding diversity, identity development, multicultural education, and leadership initiatives in swimming.

Click here to access and submit the Individual Nomination Form

Team/Group or Organization Nomination

Given to a team/group or organization that has demonstrated a consistent pattern of breaking barriers while cultivating and promoting diversity initiatives that establish and foster a more inclusive and equitable environment, thus leading to recruitment, retention and promotion of individuals of underrepresented populations.

Click here to access and submit the Team/Group or Organization Nomination Form

Please contact inclusion@usaswimming.org if you need further information.

The deadline to submit candidates for consideration is August 1st, 2018.  Winners will be announced at the 2018 United States Aquatic Sports Convention.



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C