Gold medalist Ryan Murphy Wins 100m Backstroke to Close arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara

Gold medalist Ryan Murphy Wins 100m Backstroke to Close arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara

 | Monday, June 5, 2017

Defending Olympic champion and world record-holder Ryan Murphy (Jacksonville, Fla./California Aquatics) completed a sweep of this weekend’s backstroke events Sunday as the arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara came to a conclusion at the George F. Haines International Swim Center.

After winning the 200-meter back Saturday, Murphy outdueled fellow Olympic gold medalist Matt Grevers (Lake Forest, Ill./Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics) in the 100m back with a time of 53.48 seconds, just ahead of Grevers’ 53.90 effort.

“Obviously not everyone is here, but that is three of the top guys in the 100 back right now and anytime you get to race against a former Olympic champion, you take it seriously …” Murphy said. “I’m not necessarily worrying about a time, but more worrying about strategy and how I was moving about the race. I think I executed pretty well tonight, so I’m happy with that.”

USA Swimming National Team member Madisyn Cox (Lubbock, Texas/Longhorn Aquatics) picked up her third win of the weekend in the women’s 200m individual medley with a time of 2:11.56. She also touched first in the 400m IM and 200m breast earlier in Santa Clara.

Other National Teamers earning victories Sunday included:

  • Chase Kalisz (Bel Air, Md./North Baltimore Aquatic Club) in the men’s 200m fly in 1:56.60
  • Kevin Cordes (Naperville, Ill./Unattached) in the men’s 100m breaststroke in 1:00.61
  • Katie McLaughlin (Dana Point, Calif./California Aquatics) in the women’s 200m butterfly in 2:10.35
  • Jay Litherland (Alpharetta, Ga./Dynamo Swim Club) and Michael Andrew (Lawrence, Kan./Indie Swimming) with a tie in the men’s 200m IM in 2:00.48
  • Cierra Runge (Cochranville, Pa./Wisconsin Aquatics) in the women’s 800m free in 8:29.27

International victors Sunday included Argentina’s Macarena Ceballos in the women’s 100m breast in 1:08.02, Canada’s Kylie Masse in the women’s 100m back in 1:00.34 and El Salvador’s Marcelo Acosta in the men’s 1500m free in 15:14.03.

Next up for the United States’ top swimmers are the 2017 Phillips 66 National Championships, set for June 27-July 1 in Indianapolis.




    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C