arena Pro Swim Series at Atlanta Field Led by 2016 Olympic Champions

arena Pro Swim Series at Atlanta Field Led by 2016 Olympic Champions

 | Tuesday, April 25, 2017

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Reigning Olympic champions Anthony Ervin (Valencia, Calif./SwimMAC Carolina), Lilly King (Evansville, Ind./Indiana University), Katie Ledecky (Bethesda, Md./Stanford Swimming) and Simone Manuel (Sugar Land, Texas/Stanford Swimming) are expected to highlight the field for next week’s arena Pro Swim Series at Atlanta, set for May 4-7 at Georgia Tech’s McAuley Aquatic Center.

Several members of last summer’s Olympic Team, who prepped for the Rio Games in Atlanta, are expected to compete. Included in this group are individual medalists Katie Meili (Colleyville, Texas/New York Athletic Club), Cody Miller (Las Vegas, Nev./Badger Swim Club) and former University of Georgia standout Chase Kalisz (Bel Air, Md./North Baltimore Aquatic Club).

On the local front, Kalisz will be joined by fellow UGA Olympians Gunnar Bentz (Atlanta, Ga./Athens Bulldog Swim Club), Hali Flickinger (Spring Grove, Pa./Athens Bulldog Swim Club) and Olivia Smoliga (Glenview, Ill./Athens Bulldog Swim Club), as well as three-time Olympian and Atlanta-area resident Amanda Weir (Lawrenceville, Ga./SwimAtlanta). A number of swimmers from Georgia Tech and Dynamo Swim Club also will be in action.

The four-day meet opens Thursday, May 4 with a 5 p.m. ET timed-final, distance freestyle session and continues through Sunday, May 7, with daily prelims at 10 a.m. ET followed by finals at 7 p.m. Single- and all-session tickets are on sale now online.

Two days of television coverage from Atlanta will air live on NBC Sports Network – Saturday, May 6 and Sunday, May 7. All three finals sessions also will be streamed live via NBC Sports, while a live webcast of the entire meet also will be available at

This event is the fourth of five stops of the 2017 arena Pro Swim Series. U.S. Olympians Josh Prenot (Santa Maria, Calif./California Aquatics) and U.S. Olympian Melanie Margalis (Clearwater, Fla./St. Petersburg Aquatics) are the current series leaders with 38 and 31 points, respectively.

The arena Pro Swim Series scoring system awards eligible swimmers prize money and points based on first-, second- and third-place performances at each meet in the Championship final only. The prize money and scoring system is as follows: First place, $500 (five points); second place, $300 (three points) and third place, $100 (one point).

At 2017 Phillips 66 Nationals, the point totals will double to 10 points for first place, six for second and two points for third place. The final series tally will be computed after the 2017 Phillips 66 National Championships, slated for June 27-July 1 in Indianapolis, and the prizes will be awarded at that time.

The top eligible male and female overall point total winners in the series will earn a one-year lease of a BMW vehicle, as well as a $10,000 series bonus.



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C