Repeat Winners Shine on Night Four at Speedo Junior National Championships

Repeat Winners Shine on Night Four at Speedo Junior National Championships

By Maddy Olson // Contributor  | Thursday, August 11, 2016

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Zoe Bartel (Fort Collins, Colo.) completed the women’s breaststroke sweep, Lucie Nordmann (The Woodlands, Texas) swept the women’s back events, and Michael Andrew (Lawrence, Kansas) added his fourth and fifth gold medals on night four of the 2016 Speedo Junior National Championships at the Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center.

Bartel won the 200-meter breaststroke with a time of 2:28.56. Her win in the 100m breast earlier this week, 1:08.11, was a meet record. Rachel Ramey (Frisco, Texas) earned a silver medal in 2:30.43, while Olivia Calegan (Lincoln, Neb.) took third in 2:33.03.

Nordmann powered her way to the women’s 100m back win in a time of 1:00.16. Regan Smith (Lakeville, Minn.) picked up second with a time of 1:00.50, and Grace Ariola (Bloomington, Ill.) took third in 1:01.60.

Andrew placed first in the men’s 200m breast in 2:13.90. AJ Bornstein (Ridgefield, Conn.) placed second in 2:14.60, while Jake Foster (Mason, Ohio) posted a time of 2:16.78 for third.

Andrew went on to win the men’s 100m back in a time of 55.46. Alesandro Boratto (Lower Gwynedd, Penn.) turned in 55.51 for second place, while Clark Beach (Chesterfield,Va.) took third in 55.96.

Drew Kibler (Carmel, Ind.) grabbed gold in the men’s 200m free in 1:49.93. Fynn Minuth (Pittsburgh, Penn.) and Cody Bybee (Dayton, Ohio) followed with times of 1:50.92 and 1:51.15, respectively.

Moran Tankersley (Tampa, Fla.) won the women’s 200m free with a time of 1:59.54, her third top-three finish of the meet. Miranda Heckman (Livermore, Calif.) followed for second with a 2:00.80, while Taylor Ault (Sonora, Calif.) finished third in 2:00.94.

Carmel Swim Club’s Sammie Burchill, Emma Nordin, Trude Rothrock, and Kelly Pash won the women’s 800m free relay in a time of 8:12.67. 

The 2016 Speedo Junior National Championships continue through Friday with daily prelims at 9 a.m. CT, followed by finals at 5 p.m. CT. 



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C