Andrew, Luther Win Again at Speedo Junior Nationals

Andrew, Luther Win Again at Speedo Junior Nationals

By Maddy Olson // Contributor  | Wednesday, August 10, 2016

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Repeat winners highlighted night three of the 2016 Speedo Junior National Championships at the Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center. Michael Andrew (Lawrence, Kan.) won his third gold medal, while Dakota Luther (Austin, Texas) earned her second.

Andrew topped the men’s 100-meter butterfly competition with a time of 53.18. Cody Bybee (Dayton, Ohio) finished second with a 54.07, he was third in yesterday’s 100m free. Camden Murphy (Novi, Mich.) captured third place with a 54.14 mark. 

Luther completed the women’s butterfly sweep after finishing first in the 100m event with a time of 59.86. Coleen Gillilan (Fort Collins, Colo.) and Regan Smith (Lakeville, Minn.) followed with times of 1:00.01 and 1:00.46, respectively.

In the women’s 400-meter freestyle, Erica Sullivan (Las Vegas, Nev.) earned gold with a time of 4:10.87. Taylor Ault (Sonora, Calif.) finished second in 4:11.57, while Morgan Tankersly (Tampa, Fla.) placed third with a 4:13.20. The race marked the second top-three finish for Sullivan, Ault and Tankersly of the meet.

Fynn Minuth (Pittsburg, Penn.) topped the men’s 400m free with a time of 3:53.61 for his second top-three finish of the meet. Drew Kibler followed with a time of 3:55.49, his second silver-finish this week. Johannes Calloni (Jersey City, N.J.), the 1500m champion, picked up third with a time of 3:55.60.

The Dayton Raiders’ Tommy Cope, Eric Knowles, Evan Stapp, and Cody Bybee won the men’s 800m free relay with a time of 7:34.07.

The 2016 Speedo Junior National Championships continue through Friday with daily prelims at 9 a.m. CT, followed by finals at 5 p.m. CT.



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C