USA Swimming Sets Five Stops for 2017 Arena Pro Swim Series

USA Swimming Sets Five Stops for 2017 Arena Pro Swim Series

 | Friday, June 17, 2016


USA Swimming today announced a five-event 2017 arena Pro Swim Series schedule, as well as an exciting new twist that will award double series points for performances at the 2017 Phillips 66 National Championships. 

Included in the new schedule is a return to the Indiana University Natatorium and the 1996 Olympic Games pool in Atlanta. The meet dates and host sites for the five stops of the 2017 arena Pro Swim Series – all long-course meters competitions – include:

• Jan. 13-15, 2017: arena Pro Swim Series at Austin (University of Texas) 
• March 2-4, 2017: arena Pro Swim Series at Indianapolis (Indiana University Natatorium, IUPUI)
• April 13-15, 2017: arena Pro Swim Series at Mesa (Skyline Aquatic Center)
• May 4-7, 2017: arena Pro Swim Series at Atlanta (Georgia Tech)
• June 1-4, 2017: arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara (George F. Haines International Swim Center)

In addition to points earned during the 2017 arena Pro Swim Series, USA Swimming will award double points for performances at the 2017 Phillips 66 National Championships, to be counted towards the season-long competition for the $10,000 bonus and BWM one-year lease. The final tally will now be computed after the 2017 Phillips 66 National Championships, slated for June 27-July 1 in Indianapolis, and the prizes will be awarded at that time.

“Coming off what is sure to be a thrilling summer in 2016, we look forward to carrying that momentum into next year with another exciting arena Pro Swim Series schedule that will bring our country’s top athletes to swimming communities around the nation,” said Frank Busch, USA Swimming National Team Director. “With double series points on the line at 2017 Phillips 66 Nationals, our swimmers will be rewarded for performing their best at the end of the season.”

As part of USA Swimming’s partnership with swimwear leader arena, swimmers may earn awards for top-three finishes in all individual Olympic events across the series. At each meet, $500 will be provided for a first-place finish, $300 for second and $100 for third. In addition to the single-event prize money, the overall male and female winners of the season-long series will earn a $10,000 bonus, awarded after 2017 Phillips 66 Nationals. 

At 2017 Nationals, Olympic event prize money will be as follows: $1,200 for first, $700 for second, $500 for third and $200 for fourth, in addition to 10 points for first place, six for second and two for third place. 

For the fourth consecutive season, longtime USA Swimming partner BMW will award the grand prize of a one-year lease of a BMW vehicle to the highest-scoring eligible male and female U.S. swimmers. Olympic gold medalist Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill./Trojan Swim Club) and USA Swimming National Team standout Maya DiRado (Santa Rosa, Calif./Stanford Swimming) earned one-year BMW leases as the top U.S. professional swimmers in the 2015-16 series standings. Dwyer and amateur Katie Ledecky (Bethesda, Md./Nation’s Capital Swim Club) won the 2015-16 overall series titles.

Heading toward its fifth year as the title sponsor, arena strives to improve the fan experience at every arena Pro Swim Series event through a number of exciting on-site activations. Designed to strengthen the connection between today’s youth swimmers, future National Teamers and their heroes and role models, arena utilizes the Pro Swim Series to help expose the sport of swimming to a wider audience and give those closest to it even more to love.  

“We’re extremely excited about the new format and destinations for the arena Pro Swim Series in 2017.  Since our first event in 2013, we are constantly pushing to evolve the experience at all arena Pro Swim Series stops and give spectators and competitors alike more to love,” said Steve Ozmai, Director of Marketing for arena North America. 

“Integrating fan experience events like the arena Club Cup, dedicated autograph zones, a unique podium experience and multiple social media integrations, the arena Pro Swim Series provides an opportunity for the audience to connect with the athletes in ways that few sporting events can match. We are excited for everything the coming arena Pro Swim Series season has in store and can’t wait to cheer on our nations’ newest Olympians as they hit the water in 2017.” 

Male and female overall arena Pro Swim Series champions will be honored at the conclusion of the 2017 series based on the number of points accumulated throughout the five series meets and 2017 Phillips 66 Nationals. Participants will be awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place). At Nationals, those totals will double to 10 points for first, six for second and two points for third place.

Visit for complete rules for the 2017 arena Pro Swim Series and full series information.



    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C