Leverenz Victorious on Final Night of Arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara

Leverenz Victorious on Final Night of Arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara

 | Sunday, June 5, 2016

Olympian Caitlin Leverenz (Tucson, Ariz./California Aquatics) closed out the final night of the Arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara with a victory in the women’s 200-meter individual medley at the George F. Haines International Swim Center.

Leverenz came from behind to win in 2:11.65. The 2012 Olympic bronze medalist surged to a body-length in the breaststroke leg over second-place finisher Karlee Bispo (Modesto, Calif./Unattached) to claim the win. Bispo finished in 2:12.64 and Australia’s Keryn McMaster took third in 2:14.04.

“I’ve been working on my freestyle so I was definitely charging home in that race,” said Leverenz. “I’m looking to fine-tune some things and get ready to race (at Trials).”

With 53 and 55 points, respectively, Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill./Trojan Swim Club) and Katie Ledecky (Bethesda, Md./Nation’s Capital Swim Club) secured the 2015-16 Arena Pro Swim Series titles. For the third straight year, Dwyer will earn a $10,000 series championship bonus from USA Swimming.

As the top U.S. professional finishers in the series, Dwyer and Maya DiRado (Santa Rosa, Calif./Stanford Swimming) earned a one-year lease for a BMW X1 courtesy of USA Swimming partner BMW. Only U.S. athletes who meet the outlined requirements are eligible to win the BMW lease. Complete 2015-16 Arena Pro Swim Series rules are available online atsftest.usaswimming.org.

Dwyer won eight events, while Ledecky won a total of 10 races over the course of the series. DiRado placed first in seven events en route to a total of 42 points. Participants were awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the Series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place).

Other winners Sunday night in Santa Clara included:

• Australia’s Jessica Ashwood won the 800m free in 8:18.14
• Brazil’s Tiago Pereira won the men’s 200m I.M. in 1:57.77
• Australia’s Emily Seebohm claimed the women’s 200m back in 2:08.57
• Australia’s Mitch Larkin took the men’s 200m back in1:55.38
• Australia’s Emma McKeon won the women’s 100m free in 53.30
• Australia’s James Magnussen touched first in the men’s 100m free in 48.99
• Canada’s Ryan Cochrane won the men’s 1500m free 15:09.97
Complete results from Santa Clara can be found here.  

The Arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara was the seventh and final stop of the 2015-16 Arena Pro Swim Series. The series provides the nation’s best swimmers the opportunity to face top-flight competition on U.S. soil with a record $350,000 in overall prize money.

The next meet will be the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team Trials – Swimming, held June 26-July 3 in Omaha, Nebraska.


    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C