Jaeger, Twichell Win Distance Events to Open Arena Pro Swim Series at Charlotte

Jaeger, Twichell Win Distance Events to Open Arena Pro Swim Series at Charlotte

 | Thursday, May 12, 2016

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – U.S. Olympian Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J./Club Wolverine) won the men’s 800-meter freestyle, and fellow National Team member Ashley Twichell (Fayetteville, N.Y./Unattached) took home the women’s 1500m free title Thursday to open the Arena Pro Swim Series at Charlotte. 


Jaeger earned the men’s 800m free victory in 7 minutes, 54.49 seconds, just over 2 seconds clear of National Teamer Zane Grothe (Boulder City, Nev./Badger Swim Club), who touched second in  7:57.00. Marcelo Acosta of El Salvador was third in 8:05.79. 


Jaeger, who has won the 800m free four times in a row in Charlotte, posted the sixth-fastest time in the world this year. 


Twichell clocked the second-fastest time in the world this year in the women’s 1500m free, touching in 16:11.19 to win by nearly 5 seconds. Chile’s Kristel Kobrich was second in 16:16.15, with Gillian Ryan (Kutztown, Pa./University of Michigan) third in 16:32.21. 


Complete results from night one in Charlotte can be found here


Held at the newly renovated Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center, the long-course meters meet continues through Sunday, May 15 with daily prelims at 9 a.m. EDT and finals at 6 p.m. EDT. 


Television coverage of May 14-15 finals from Charlotte will air on NBC Sports Network on delay, while NBC Sports Live Extra will stream May 14-15 finals live. A live webcast of the entire meet also will be available at usaswimming.org


The Arena Pro Swim Series at Charlotte is the fifth of seven stops of the 2015-16 Arena Pro Swim Series. As part of USA Swimming’s partnership with swimwear leader Arena, the circuit will feature a record $350,000 in overall prize money. Swimmers may earn awards for top-three finishes in all individual Olympic events across the series. At each meet, $1,000 will be provided for a first-place finish, $600 for second and $200 for third. In addition to the single-event prize money, the overall male and female winners of the season-long Series will earn a $10,000 bonus. 


For the third consecutive season, longtime USA Swimming partner BMW will award the grand prize of a one-year lease of a BMW vehicle to the highest-scoring eligible male and female U.S. swimmers. Male and female overall Arena Pro Swim Series champions will be honored at the conclusion of the 2015-16 series based on the number of points accumulated throughout the seven meets. Participants will be awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the Series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place).


For more information, visit sftest.usaswimming.org





    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C