Olympic Champions Headline Arena Pro Swim Series at Orlando

Olympic Champions Headline Arena Pro Swim Series at Orlando

 | Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Approximately 40 members of the USA Swimming National Team, including Olympic champions and world record-holders Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.), Katie Ledecky (Bethesda, Md.) and Michael Phelps (Baltimore, Md.), are expected to compete at the March 3-5 Arena Pro Swim Series at Orlando.

Held at Orlando’s YMCA Aquatic Center, the long-course meters meet opens Thursday, March 3 and continues through Saturday, March 5, with daily prelims at 9 a.m. Eastern followed by finals at 6 p.m. Single- and all-session tickets are on sale now online.

Television coverage from Orlando will air on same-day delay on Friday, March 4, from 10-11:30 p.m. Eastern on Universal HD and Saturday, March 5, from 7:30-9 p.m. Eastern on NBC Sports Network. In addition, NBC Sports Live Extra will stream March 4-5 finals live. A live webcast of the entire meet also will be available at usaswimming.org.

Additional U.S. Olympic champions expected to swim in Orlando include the likes of Nathan Adrian (Bremerton, Wash.), Natalie Coughlin (Vallejo, Calif.), Matt Grevers (Lake Forest, Ill.) and Allison Schmitt (Canton, Mich.). 

On the local front, a number of swimmers with Florida ties are expected to compete, including Olympic medalists and University of Florida alumni Elizabeth Beisel (Saunderstown, R.I.) and Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill.) and current Gator sprint standout Caeleb Dressel (Green Cove Springs, Fla.), who set American records in the 50- and 100-yard freestyle at last week’s Southeastern Conference Championships. 

In total, more than 500 swimmers are slated to compete in Orlando.

The Arena Pro Swim Series at Orlando is the third of seven stops of the 2015-16 Arena Pro Swim Series. As part of USA Swimming’s partnership with swimwear leader Arena, the circuit will feature a record $350,000 in overall prize money. Swimmers may earn awards for top-three finishes in all individual Olympic events across the series. At each meet, $1,000 will be provided for a first-place finish, $600 for second and $200 for third. In addition to the single-event prize money, the overall male and female winners of the season-long Series will earn a $10,000 bonus.

For the third consecutive season, longtime USA Swimming partner BMW will award the grand prize of a one-year lease of a BMW vehicle to the highest-scoring eligible male and female U.S. swimmers. 

Male and female overall Arena Pro Swim Series champions will be honored at the conclusion of the 2015-16 series based on the number of points accumulated throughout the seven meets. Participants will be awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the Series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place).

Ledecky currently leads the women’s Arena Pro Swim Series standings with 34 points, while Adrian tops the men’s standings with 20 points.


    Show More

    This is used as a workaround to display Twitter feeds properly. Please do not modify or remove - Michael C